You are viewing an unstyled version of Title of Site. Title of Site looks and works best in a browser that properly supports web standards.

Free browsers that properly support web standards include:

[ Skip Navigation ]

Seal of the State of Illinois

Williamson County Courthouse - 407 N. Monroe St. Marion, IL 62959

Tax Redemption/Extension Department

Phone: (618) 998-2110 Ext. 126 or 127

Annual budgets, levies, financial reports of all taxing bodies are filed in the Tax Extension Department. The Chief Tax Extension Clerk calculates tax rates and extensions for each unit of local government within the boundaries of Williamson County.

Tax Rates for the various entities in Williamson County for 2011 taxes payable 2012 were:
State Multiplier: 1.019

Village of Bush .862310
Village of Cambria .660790
City of Carterville .402740
Village of Colp .257580
Village of Crainville .211440
City of Creal Springs 1.806320
Village of Energy .880210
Village of Freeman Spur .991390
City of Herrin .800790
City of Hurst 1.189510
City of Johnston City 1.214470
City of Marion .384280
Village of Pittsburg .815310
Village of Spillertown .174270
Village of Stonefort .500000
Village of Whiteash .000000
Park Districts:
Herrin Park District .203430
Marion Park District .228300
Fire Districts
Lake Egypt Fire Protection District .736620
Williamson County Fire Protection District .352330
Other Districts:
Airport .096100
Williamson County 1.343280
Mosquito Abatement (Herrin) .019900
Saline Valley Conservancy .072840
Williamson County Fire Protection District .352330
School Districts:
Johnston City Community Unit School District No. 1 4.408580
Community Unit School District No. 2 (Marion) 3.736980
Crab Orchard Community School District No. 3 3.862090
Herrin Community Unit School District No. 4 3.463010
Carterville Community Unit School District No. 5 3.490050

Overlapping School Districts based in other counties:

Franklin County
Frankfort School District No. 168 3.128480
Zeigler-Royalton Unit District No. 188 1.729590
Jackson County
Giant City Consolidated School District No. 130 2.926360
Carbondale Community High School District No. 165 2.015830
Johnson County
New Simpson Hill School District No. 32 2.936720
Vienna High School District No. 13-3 2.251810
Saline County
Galatia Community School District No. 1 3.398140
Carrier Mills-Stonefort Community Unit District No. 2 4.645870
College Districts:
Rend Lake Jr. College No. 521 .407060
John A. Logan Jr. College No. 530 .548420
Southeastern Illinois Jr. College No. 533 .760460
Library District:
Crab Orchard Public Library District .147890

The Tax Extension Department is the collector of delinquent taxes. Forfeitures are calculated in this department and collected by Bruce A. Troutman, County Treasurer/Ex-officio Tax Collector.

Assessed value of all property in Williamson County for 2011 totaled $907,345,394.00
This was an increase of 3.5%, ($30,862,873.00 in growth) from 2010.